Bihar Election: Caste equation shown in RLSP candidates selection | Bihar Election: Caste equation shown in the selection of RLSP candidates


Patna, October 17 (IANS). Caste politics continues to play a decisive role despite the claim of political parties that development will be the main issue in Bihar’s assembly elections this year. The parties are selecting candidates on the basis of caste dominance in a particular region and it has also appeared in the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) candidate list.

The party released a list of 37 candidates for the first and second phase on Friday night, and 18 of them represent the Koiri caste and two are from the Kurmi caste.

Both castes are considered the traditional vote bank of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

However, RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha has always been considered a challenge for Nitish Kumar due to his ability to infiltrate Kumar’s Koiri-Kurmi (KK) formula. The KK formula is similar to the Muslim-Yadav (MY) equation of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

This makes Kushwaha a prominent leader in Bihar and he also managed to take a seat in the Union Cabinet of the first term of the Narendra Modi government.

Apart from Koiri and Kurmi, the RLSP has given tickets to four Muslims, three Yadavs, three Rajputs, one Bhumihar candidate, three from Paswan community, two Dalits and one Kayastha leader.

RLSP is contesting 104 seats in Bihar under the umbrella of the Grand Democratic Secular Front (GDSF). Its other coalition partners Bahujan Samaj Party are contesting 80 seats, AIMIM on 24, Samajwadi Janata Dal 25 on Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party on five and Janata Party Socialist in five seats.

BSP chief Mayawati is expected to address two rallies in Bihar from October 23.

The election of Bihar Legislative Assembly is going to start in three phases from October 28. The second phase will be held on November 3 and the third on November 7. The results will be announced on 10 November.




Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: